Guides for Topic: Other Voices, Other Faiths

Book image

God Is Red

by Liao Yiwu

Bookmark and Share

In God is Red, Chinese dissident journalist and poet Liao Yiwu—once lauded, later imprisoned, and now celebrated author of For a Song and a Hundred Songs andThe Corpse Walker—profiles the extraordinary lives of dozens of Chinese Christians, providing a rare glimpse into the underground world of belief that is taking hold within the officially atheistic state of Communist China.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

When Religion Becomes Evil

by Charles Kimball

Bookmark and Share

In this thoroughly revised and updated edition, leading religion and Middle East expert Charles Kimball shows how all religious traditions are susceptible to these basic corruptions and why only authentic faith can prevent such evil.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

Love Times Three

by Joe, Alina, Vicki, and Valerie Darger

Bookmark and Share

From a family that inspired Big Love’s story of Bill Henrickson and his three wives, this first-ever memoir of a polygamous family captures the extraordinary workings of a unique family dynamic, and argues for the acceptance of plural marriage as an alternative lifestyle. Readers of Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Elissa Wall’s Stolen Innocence, and James McGreevey’s Confession, as well as fans of shows like Big Love and Sister Wives, will be enthralled by the first groundbreaking book in praise of polygamy.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

The Alchemist

by Paulo Coelho

Bookmark and Share

Every few decades, a book is published that changes the lives of its readers forever. The Alchemist is such a book. With over a million and a half copies sold around the world, Paulo Coelho’s charming fable has already established itself as a modern classic, universally admired. The Alchemist is the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure as extravagant as any ever found. The story of Santiago’s journey teaches us, as only a few stories have done, about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts, learning to read the omens strewn along life’s path, and, above all, following our dreams.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

The Novice

by Thich Nhat Hanh

Bookmark and Share

Thich Nhat Hanh offers a poignant and beautiful novel with the power to teach, transform, and transcend all boundaries of faith, creed, country, and era. For readers who know Hanh from books such as Peace is Every Step and Anger, or for those who may be new to the writing of the Vietnamese Zen Buddhist master and peace activist, The Novice will open a soulful road of introspection and self-discovery, a path leading to greater awareness of the means to manifest peace both inside oneself and in the world at large.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

Breaking Up with God

by Sarah Sentilles

Bookmark and Share

In the tradition of Barbara Brown Taylor and Sue Monk Kidd, Sarah Sentilles offers a poignant, beautifully wrought memoir of her personal crisis of faith.  Sentilles was on the way to becoming a priest when she ultimately faced the truth: she no longer believed. Her moving story examines the question of how you leave the most powerful being in the universe—and, if you do, where do you go? Breaking Up with God is an inspiring reflection no matter where you stand on the matter of faith.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

Naked Spirituality

by Brian D. McLaren

Bookmark and Share

In the same way he revitalized our faith in A New Kind of Christianity, church leader Brian McLaren reinvigorates our approach to spiritual fulfillment in Naked Spirituality—by tearing down the old dogmatic practices that hamper our spiritual growth, and leading us toward the meaningful spiritual practices that can help transform our lives.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

In Praise of Doubt

by Peter Berger and Anton Zijderveld

Bookmark and Share

In In Praise of Doubt, two world-renowned social scientists, Peter L. Berger and Anton C. Zijderveld, map out how we can survive the political, moral, and religious challenges raised by the extreme poles of relativism and fundamentalism. A book that asks and answers Big Questions, In Praise of Doubt offers invaluable guidance on how to have convictions without becoming a fanatic.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

An Altar in the World

by Barbara Brown Taylor

Bookmark and Share

In An Altar in the World, Barbara Brown Taylor shares how she learned to encounter God far beyond the walls of the church. She reveals meaningful ways to discover the sacred in the small things we do and see, from simple practices such as walking, working, and prayer. Something as ordinary as hanging clothes on a clothesline becomes an act of meditation if we pay attention to what we’re doing and take time to notice the sights, smells, and sounds around us. Allowing yourself to get lost leads to new discoveries. As we incorporate these practices into our daily lives, we begin to discover altars everywhere we go, in nearly everything we do. Through Taylor’s expert guidance and delicate, thought-provoking prose, we learn to live with purpose, pay attention, slow down, and revere the world we live in.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

Leaving Church

by Barbara Brown Taylor

Bookmark and Share

After five successful years as the pastor of her own small congregation in Clarkesville, Georgia, Barbara Brown Taylor ultimately finds herself experiencing “compassion fatigue” and wonders what exactly God has called her to do. She realizes that in order to keep her faith, she may have to leave. Taylor describes a rich spiritual journey in which God has given her more questions than answers. As she becomes part of the flock instead of the shepherd, she describes her poignant and sincere struggle to regain her footing in the world without her defining collar. Taylor’s realization that this may in fact be God’s surprising path for her leads her to a refreshing search to find Him in new places. Leaving Church will remind even the most skeptical among us that life is about both disappointment and hope—and ultimately, renewal.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

If Grace Is True

by Philip Gulley and James Mulholland

Bookmark and Share

In this controversial bestseller, authors and Quaker ministers Philip Gulley and James Mulholland expand upon their belief in eternal salvation for all through God’s perfect grace. For seekers, for thoughtful Christians, and for the simply curious, Gulley and Mulholland offer a beautiful, timeless message of hope.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

If the Church Were Christian

by Philip Gulley

Bookmark and Share

Quaker minister Philip Gulley, author of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love, returns with If the Church Were Christian: a challenging and thought-provoking examination of the author’s vision for today’s church… if Christians truly followed the core values of Jesus Christ. Fans of Shane Claiborne, Rob Bell, and unChristian will find much to discuss in If the Church Were Christian, as will anyone interested in the future of this institution.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

Why Faith Matters

by David J. Wolpe

Bookmark and Share

Why Faith Matters is an articulate defense of religion in America. It makes the case for faith and shows its relationship to history and science. Refuting the cold reason of atheists and the hatred of fanatics with a vision of religion informed by faith, love, and understanding, Rabbi David J. Wolpe follows in a literary tradition that stretches from Cardinal Newman to C. S. Lewis to Thomas Merton—individuals of faith who brought religion and culture together in their own works. Wolpe takes readers through the origins and nature of faith, the role of the Bible in modern life, and the compatibility of God and science, concluding with a powerful argument for the place of God, faith, and religion in today’s world.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

A People's History of Christianity

by Diana Butler Bass

Bookmark and Share

For too long, the history of Christianity has been told as the triumph of orthodox doctrine imposed through power. Now, historian Diana Butler Bass sheds new light on the surprising ways that many Christians have refused to conform to a rigid church hierarchy and sought to recapture the radical implications of Jesus’s life and message.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

When the Heart Waits

by Sue Monk Kidd

Bookmark and Share

Blending her own experiences with an intimate grasp of spirituality, Sue Monk Kidd relates the passionate and moving tale of her spiritual crisis, when life seemed to have lost meaning and her longing for a hasty escape from the pain yielded to a discipline of “active waiting.”

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser
Book image

The Dance of the Dissident Daughter

by Sue Monk Kidd

Bookmark and Share

For years, Sue Monk Kidd was a conventionally religious woman. Then, in the late 1980s, she experienced an unexpected awakening, and began a journey toward a feminine spirituality. With the exceptional storytelling skills that have helped make her name, the author of When the Heart Waits tells her very personal story of the fear, anger, healing, and freedom she experienced on the path toward the wholeness that many women have lost in the church. Kidd reveals a new level of feminine spiritual consciousness for all women—one that retains a meaningful connection with the “deep song of Christianity,” embraces the sacredness of ordinary women’s experience, and has the power to transform in the most positive ways every fundamental relationship in a woman’s life—her marriage, her career, and her religion.

Buy Book Learn More Download Guide View Guide in Browser